Student Scholarship

Dr. John Rison Jones Award for Southern History

The Dr. John Rison Jones Award for Southern History Presented by the Huntsville-Madison County Historical Society is a yearly scholarship given to a student who most exemplifies Dr. Jones’s commitment to history.



Paper topics:

Content should focus on local history of Madison County; Alabama; or the Tennessee Valley.

Papers may be a previous school assignment or a brand new work product.


  • city/county/regional history
  • biographic information of citizens
  • Institutional/organization/ business history
  • transcripts of historical records &
  • contextual interpretation
  • transcripts of oral history interviews
  • book reviews of scholarly work
  • historically accurate narrative storytelling

Previous Recipients:

2016 – Jake Nelson
2015 – Tish Cates
2014 – John O’Brien
2013 – James Xiques
2012 – Matthew Menarcheck
2011 – Charity Ethridge
2010 – Whitney Reid
2009 – Joseph Richardson