Morgan County

Morgan County was created in 1818 from land acquired from the Cherokee Indians. Originally called Cotaco County the county seat then was at Somerville. The county was renamed in honor of Revolutionary War hero Gen. Daniel Morgan. The county seat became Decatur, named for Commander Stephen Decatur. Other towns include Danville, Eva, Hartselle and Somerville .

Morgan County Genealogical Society

Morgan County Archives
624 Bank St., Decatur (256) 351-4726