Marshall County

Marshall County was created in 1836 and named for John Marshall, Chief Justice of the U. S. Supreme Court. Claysville was the first county seat followed by Marshall (now Wyeth City), Warrenton, and finally Guntersville. Guntersville was named for John Gunter, a Scotsman, who settled there and married a woman of the leading Cherokee tribe. Their settlement was along the Creek Path where a mission school was established. Other towns include Albertville, Arab, Boaz, and Grant.