Madison County

Madison County has a rich history. Established in 1808 by the governor of the Mississippi Territory, it was named in honor of James Madison. Although the remnants of the Cumberland Plateau are evident in the east with Keel, Monte Sano and Green Mountains, the lands to the west are level and loamy. This county produced more cotton than any other county in the state, and cotton mills soon developed. Today the population is highly involved in space technology related to Marshall Space Center and national defense connected to Redstone Arsenal. Historic districts include Twickenham, Old Town, and Five Points. Other towns in the county include Gurley, Madison, New Hope, Hazel Green, Meridianville, Toney and Triana.

HMCHS Resources

General History

Community-Driven Research

Huntsville Revisited
Home to a wide range of unique artifacts, photos, and stories of the places and families that make up the fabric of our history, Huntsville Revisited has become one of the most talked about cultural attractions in the area. The history museum is located at the H.C. Blake Art & History Center.

Huntsville Rewound
A Valuable Source of Contemporary Huntsville History

Research Institutions

Historic Preservation