The Dr. John Rison Jones Award for Southern History Presented by the Huntsville-Madison County Historical Society is a yearly scholarship given to an undergraduate student at UAHuntsville who most exemplifies Dr. Jones's commitment to history. Each year the History Department will pick, through classroom performance and written work, a student committed to southern history as part of their course of study.

The following UAHuntsville students have won the award:

2009 - Joseph Richardson

2010 - Whitney Reid

2011 - Charity Ethridge

2012 - Matthew Menarcheck

2013 - James Xiques

2014 - John O'Brien

2015 - Tish Cates

2016 - Jake Nelson